A DAY AT BIG SMALL BUSINESS

Last Saturday, I attended the first ever BIG SMALL BUSINESS event in the beautiful city of Winchester. It was the vision and creation of two AMAZING women – Monica (founder of The Elgin Avenue) and Laura (founder of Hero Stockbridge). 

As a new blogger and new member of this community, I didn’t really know what to expect. As nervous as I was to put myself out there, curiosity got the better of me so I went for it. I was blown away by the kindness and togetherness of everyone – something I’ve never experienced before as a newbie!

The day was made up of different sections focusing on starting a brand in the digital age, to creative collaborations, to bloggers working with small brands and what influence that can have. I know it’s cliché to say this but I can honestly say I came away from the day feeling totally inspired and as though I can achieve ANYTHING I put my mind to. I just need to learn to ride that feeling of fear, instead of hiding from it (which I’m guilty of doing all to often!) 

It was amazing to see so many bloggers that I have admired from a far for so many years (on Instagram and Pinterest) up close, sharing their stories of how they started out, what they have achieved, what they are up to now. This community is amazing and I’m super excited to be even a tiny part of it. 

Kristina Karlsson, founder of Kikki K, gave the keynote speech on the day. Everyone in the room was hooked on her every word. She was utterly brilliant. Her motto is ‘Don’t say no, say how!’ – that’s something I will always carry with me (especially when moments of fear set in!)

I have absolutely no idea what my future holds, be it blogging full time, owning a small brand or business, or working for the man – I’m still working on that one. BUT what I do know is we should never stop learning and achieving. Set goals, and keep setting them EVERY DAY. Love what you do, and if you don’t, then change it because no one else will. And most importantly – HAVE FUN!

Thanks again, Big Small Business – you were truly awesome! Until next time…

IMG_0125.jpg

Leave a Reply

