HOW TO CREATE A FAUX LIVING WALL ON A BUDGET

A living wall was the one thing I was desperate for when we started work on the flat in July last year. Back then I had seen them in a few stores and restaurants but I had never actually seen one in a home. Maybe I wasn’t looking hard enough at the time but I knew it was something we had to explore when the time was right.

I had seen a couple of high-end options – one that always stood out (and was constantly at the forefront of my mind) was from Rockett St George, priced at approx. £300. I remember it being absolutely stunning and completely perfect in every way. It was very mossy looking with rich greens and purples mounted onto a green mesh which blended in with the foliage, but it was way out of our price range so we parked it and I tried extremely hard to forget about it (…I never forgot about it).

FullSizeRender2.jpg
The Rockett St George beauty (ALL the heart eyes!)

A couple of weeks ago we were in Westfield Stratford to check out the new Ikea store. It had so many great ideas and so much inspiration for outdoor solutions. I came across the BARSO trellis and suddenly I had a GIANT lightbulb moment – what if we used this indoors?

IMG_1392.jpg
Ikea Stratford – The BARSO Trellis

We have been collecting faux foliage, cacti, plants, greenery for an absolute age from various places (mainly Abigail Ahern) so we already had a pretty good collection to use. However, if you were starting from scratch and wanted to get everything in one place (trellis/plants etc) Ikea do such a brilliant range of artificial plants and flowers. The trellis is £10 and the plants/flowers start from 75p so it really is a no brainer.

I started with a lot of Eucalyptus for the first layer as I wanted it to have really dark greens running throughout to add depth. I then began adding in white and purple flowers and just kept layering and weaving the plants into the grid and into eachother. The more you have the better it looks. It’s definitely one to go really over the top with!

FullSizeRender.jpg

We’ve still got a long way to go with ours (it’s still a bit sporadic for my liking) but I’m really happy with the progress so far.

What do you think of living walls?


Hope you’re all having a wonderful bank holiday weekend!

5 thoughts on “HOW TO CREATE A FAUX LIVING WALL ON A BUDGET

  1. I literally love living walls! This has made me want to go to IKEA like NOW! Are there many different sizes for the trellis?

    Like

    1. The trellis comes in 2 pieces so you could use 1 piece if it’s for a small space. Equally if you had a large space to fill, you can buy a couple of the Barso packs and they connect together with a small bracket so you can make it as big as you like. Look forward to seeing how you get on 🙂 x

      Like

  2. You’ve done really well, the living wall really stands out against the dark wall colour, I want to see more of that room!

    Like

Leave a Reply

